Finding my moment of zen

Week seven was a struggle of time management for me.  This weekend is my birthday and I am currently in LA.  I am officially the farthest west I have ever been in the US!  So many firsts this past month.  I have been trying to keep up at work while I have had school on my brain.  Over the course of the the last two months I feel like I have been the ultimate time prioritizer.  I watch screen casts and read on the bus to and from work.  I write post it notes all day at work for idea’s for school projects and I ask people I work with and meet in Colorado about what their favorite things to do here are.  All this has led me to an increasingly calmer sense of being.

After such disappointment last week when working with a website that was not designed to do what I intended, I was determined to make something work from it this week.  I was more than excited to create a whole weekend of fun things to do in Colorado.  I took something I am already skilled at (organizing schedules) and used my focal theme to develop a large scale project.  What was especially fun for me was engaging with people at work (and a few I met in Denver) about what activities they thought were the most fun to do.  I received great feedback and more positive responses than I could have ever imagined.
Compiling a list of things to do really pushed me to think outside of the box on what I wanted to do.  I can’t believe how many things there are to do in this state in such a small area.  Cleveland has nothing to offer when compared to the wide range of activities I found.  As I have mentioned in an earlier post, I found the relevance of having a good tutorial of how to use a new website.  I have noticed that many of the DS106 activities do not have these.  It is something that I hope really blossoms over the next few years.
I think maybe it should be a requirement to take the time to commit to at least one tutorial for ds106 per class.  After all, we are all in the education field.  It is not only good experience but it is something students in the education field should have experience with.
This week I earned a 9/10.  I feel like I really do need a few days off to clear my mind before I dive into my portfolio next week.  As I am traveling all weekend I hope to relax for a minute before wrapping the course up.  It is difficult to not think about school all the time.  I was even on the plane flying out here typing ideas for organizing my portfolio.  I have serious problems!
Leave a Reply

