Looking for a new job or maybe a new career path because of this class? Look no further.

For my first digital story I chose to watch a TED talk. Amy Cuddy’s “Your body language shapes who you are,” is a fascinating look at the power of nonverbal behaviors.  I was immediately drawn to this video because she spoke about a “free no-tech life hack, and all it requires of you is this: that you change your posture for two minutes.” (Cuddy 2012).  If I can spend two minutes doing something that could have a positive impact on my future, I am ready to listen.

Assessment traits used:

  • Research
  • Originality. Voice, Creativity
  • Sense of Audience

Research: 8/10

I selected research as my first category because without any numbers or statistics backing you up, as a scientist or teacher, I am less likely to believe you.  If you cannot prove with empirical data or some sort of valid research it is considered merely “your opinion” to me.  This video met and exceeded my expectations in regards to the data she was able to reference.  For instance Amy Cuddy stated “…judgments of political candidates’ faces in just one second predict 70 percent of U.S. Senate and gubernatorial race outcomes” (2012) within 2 minutes of her presentation.  There were also many other studies referenced that all supported her findings.

Originality: 8/10

The second category I chose is originality.  When you are choosing a video to watch and critique, it is important to pull your audience in and make them want to watch the entire clip.  As I mentioned earlier, she hinted at a two minute posture that in my mind had some magical effect.  What posture could she possibly be talking about?  Was it a Yoga pose?  I had to watch the whole video to find out.  The possibility of scoring a new job or a hot date could ride on knowing this two minute trick!  I am not spoiling it, you must watch this video for yourself.

Sense of Audience: 9/10

The final category I chose was sense of audience.  In any lecture to a mass crowd such as the one seen in this presentation, it is vital to keep people’s attention.  Amy Cuddy did make attempts to engage with the audience and move around the stage.  She was even able pull on a few heart strings with her emotional story.  What really resonated with me was her reference to not fitting in.  This was exactly how I felt the first few days of class.  I do not use Twitter or blog so all of the things I am doing in this class is brand new for me.  There have been a lot of emotions (many negative) that I have felt this week that I am struggling with as well.  This video inadvertently ended up reinforcing my decision to stick with this class.  At least I can try to fake like I know what I am doing until maybe one day it is a reality.

Wrap up: 25/30 TOTAL

The three traits I chose do not capture all of the necessary components of evaluating a digital story.  The construction of the video for example was not addressed.  Although Amy Cuddy had an engaging opening and closing point of view her story could have been tied together better.  For instance she was referencing various studies without giving out many numbers or scientific data.  There also were not a lot of answers as to why studies were performed because often that weighs in on the findings.  Based on this evaluation I would say she could have improved on some of the background information that led her to this particular research.  Engagement of the audience was possible because of the yearning to know the two minute pose but not necessarily because of her story from her car accident.  Overall,  I enjoyed this digital story and I would recommend anyone in the class who is having any difficulties understanding the syllabus or even how to tweet should watch this for a little bit of inspiration.

References

Cuddy, Amy (2012, June).  Your body language shapes who you are.

https://www.ted.com/talks/amy_cuddy_your_body_language_shapes_who_you_are

One thought on “Looking for a new job or maybe a new career path because of this class? Look no further.

  1. Hi Annie,
    A very nice critique. I had heard about Cuddy’s TED talk, but had not had a chance to see it yet, so I used your critique as an excuse to see it! Your critique was concise, organized, and well thought-out. I especially liked the personal touches:
    – “The possibility of scoring a new job or a hot date could ride on knowing this two minute trick!”
    – “This was exactly how I felt the first few days of class.”
    – “anyone in the class who is having any difficulties understanding the syllabus or even how to tweet should watch this for a little bit of inspiration.”
    Keep up the good work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

